A few new ones….

8 May

After being a Gutter Girl last year, I was asked if I wanted to guest-host one of A Year in the Life of an Art Journal’s prompts. I chose April. My layout went live on April 30th. I’m not much of an art journaler, but scrapbooking can be art journaling, right?

The Prompt: Busy!
The song: Manic Monday by the Bangles
Written Lyrics HERE
Product/technique: Lace/trim

I started a new (and first ever “proper”) job back in January and life suddenly got busy! I’m currently teaching Norwegian and English at a high school and have just been employed for the next school year as well (teaching the same subjects social science). I’m honored to have them hire me before I’m legally a “teacher”, and ever so grateful.
And… I’m still in grad school, trying to juggle empirical research with work and being an editor for a newly founded academic journal.
All of this means I haven’t scrapbooked properly in months, the total amount of layouts being 11 so far this year… 😦
Life got busy, but I love it!

Yesterday, we went to one of Terje’s cousin’s confirmation, and such an occasion needs a card. I made this last weekend, using a Studio Calico kit (no surprises there?!). You may see the Day in the Life-photos from yesterday here.

Yesterday was NSD. National Scrapbook Day. I suppose that’s national as in the U.S., but that didn’t stop me from participating last year. I didn’t get to this year, but I did two of the sketches posted on Studio Calico’ blog this morning, using photos taken yesterday.

All in all, I participated in the stitching-challenge, the multi-photo layout-challenge, and used some of the sketches published for NSD.

Sketch, stitching and multiple photos

Sketch

Multiple photos

Thanks for looking!

4 Responses to “A few new ones….”

  1. Linda64 08/05/2011 at 6:29 pm #

    Så kjekt å se layouts fra deg igjen og disse var knallflotte i skikkelig Margethe stil.

  2. Michelle H. 17/05/2011 at 2:31 am #

    I really love what you did wit the “Slip Set” page- that Sassfrass paper looks fantastic as do those photo tags. I wanted to let you know that Elle Studio is having a DT call- the deadline is May 25th- I think you would love their new handmade layers line and your style is fantastic for their products- it’s mostly tags and label stickers.

    • Margrethe 17/05/2011 at 5:33 am #

      Thanks 😉 I’ll check it out!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A day in the life-layout « - 15/05/2011

    […] DitL-day, it is only fitting that I made something with last week’s DitL-photos. Well, I already have, but being child-free, I need to find something to […]

Leave a Reply

