Neat and Tidy

18 Feb

I’ve always been a very neat scrapper. Although I love shabby chic and layer upon layer, I’m not good at it. Less is more, if you ask me. But today I’ve done something very uncharacteristic; I’ve played with paint.

I got some gesso to prepare the pages. Waited until it was dry, and then I poured some turquoise, red, and blue acrylic paint on two pages, and closed the book. Lather, rinse, repeat. When it was almost dry, I noticed how the perforation started starting coming apart (this annoys me to no end with this book – definitely won’t be getting it next year), so I fixed it with some black gaffer tape. When I closed the book again, some paint got onto the tape and a funky effect was created. Smeared on some matte varnish. Went to uni for a lecture and came back to a dry pages. Sprayed on some Maya Mists; Blue Raspberry, Cherry and Gold, and waited some more. Made some nice circles by using various objects I found around the desk and some acrylic paint. Everything’s dry now.

The only problem is that I have no idea what to journal about.

2 Responses to “Neat and Tidy”

  1. Ingrid 20/02/2010 at 5:14 am #

    i really, really, really love these pages (and the pages on the post below this one)! i love the grunginess, the messiness, the texture and the expressiveness. i’ve been trying to put more grunge into my journals, but i think about it too much!

    why don’t you journal about not knowing what to journal about, or how you feel about this page or writing on top of it?

    • Margrethe 22/02/2010 at 6:50 pm #

      That’s a great idea! Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

