I’m just fine

23 Dec

Another month, another Gutter Girlz challenge. This time, “I’m just fine”, It only hurts when I’m breathing by Shania Twain and mesh/gauze. I don’t know what it is, but there’s something about Gutter Girlz that other challenge blogs don’t have. I’ve tried several, but GG is the only one I keep up with, and the only one I’m really looking forward to every month. If it were up to me, I’d be on their design team forever!

This time, I’ve scrapbooked about my in-laws. They live 20 minutes by car from here, but have only visited us twice since we got our own place 8 months ago. Once we invited them, they said they’d come, and just never showed up. The first time they were here, there was nothing positive to say about our apartment – it was too small, too this, too that. When they were here last, we had decorated for Xmas. It was not commented on once. Nothing about how nice it looked. Nothing. Our apartment is still too small. I’ve always known they don’t approve of me as their son’s wie. “He could do better” – they were in an outrage when continued studying after my BA (I could just go straight to teaching instead), and Art- and Cultural sciences – what’cha gonna do with that?! They want him to have a docile wife, who cooks and cleans. I’m not that wife. The papers have been chosen very specifically for this challenge. The magazine paper is from Amanda Johnson, as is the buttons. Other papers from Studio Calico‘s new line “Home Front” and Cosmo Cricket and October Afternoon – they fit the theme. The journaling card is also Studio Calico’s “Home Front”, and it’s the “I do” journaling card.

14 Responses to “I’m just fine”

  1. rachel whetzel 23/12/2009 at 5:25 pm #

    LOVE THIS!! I always love what you do!! Email me, will ya?

  2. Margrethe 23/12/2009 at 6:25 pm #

    Wow! That is such a nice feedback to receive! Will e-mail you now 🙂

  3. Kristy 23/12/2009 at 9:47 pm #

    Love this! esp how you used the mesh 🙂 I’m dying to get my hands on that Studio Calico papers! Great goin! And I bet your apt looks super cute for christmas! Your in laws can suck it as long as your hubs still loves YOU! You rawk!

    • Margrethe 23/12/2009 at 10:03 pm #

      I just love Studio Calico! Thanks for commenting 🙂

  4. Nikki Z 23/12/2009 at 9:49 pm #

    fantastic! love how your papers each have a specific meaning. And the layering is perfect! thanks for playing along with us!

    • Margrethe 23/12/2009 at 10:04 pm #

      Yeah – the papers were chosen to illustrate the whole situation – thanks for commenting 🙂

  5. Glenda T. 24/12/2009 at 3:56 am #

    I love the whole concept of this and that leopard button!! Thanks for rolling in the gutter with us again!

    • Margrethe 24/12/2009 at 7:30 am #

      Thank you for commenting 🙂 That button rocked (too bad I only had one…)

  6. joyce 27/12/2009 at 9:37 pm #

    SOO FINE Margrette. Glad to know that you KNOW your self worth and that you KNOW hubby’s love.

    • Margrethe 28/12/2009 at 8:09 am #

      Thank you for commenting! 😀

  7. Becky T 28/12/2009 at 7:13 pm #

    Loving this. I really love the red and how it pops

    • Margrethe 28/12/2009 at 7:22 pm #

      Thank you for commenting, Becky! 🙂 I don’t really use mesh, but I like how this turned out 🙂

  8. lara 30/12/2009 at 10:20 pm #

    i’m so jealous of your eyes 🙂
    love how even the mesh can’t obscure the emotion in them!

    also love your layering techniques – so excited to see more and more and more of you in the gutter this next year!

  9. Margrethe 30/12/2009 at 10:34 pm #

    Wow – thank you for the great compliment, Lara! And – I’m super-excited to join the DT-team!

Leave a Reply

